Rosie Levin Stages

rosie levin process

1. I started by colouring a large ball of white modelling chocolate grey. I divided this into the main piece for her entire body, two pieces for her arms and a small piece for her tail. I then took a thin 4″ cake board. I rolled the piece for her body into a smooth ball. I then rolled one end into a slight sausage shape between my palms. I then gently flattened the ball part and kept smoothing in the edges with my palms. Again with my palms I then gently squeezed the bottom of the flattened ball shape to start to create her legs. Once I was happy with the length I then gently flattened the area for her legs and smoothed in the sides. I then held her against my board and with my fingers I pressed down on the ends of her legs to create a bend for her feet. I then emphasised the bend using a Dresden Tool. I then carefully worked around the bottom of her feet gently pushing the edges onto the board so as she was able to stand up. With a small palette knife I then cut the space out from in between her legs and then smoothed this with a damp paint brush.

With a Ball Tool I then create two eye sockets. I then rolled two small balls of white modelling chocolate for eyes and secured these with edible glue. With a No.1 piping nozzle I then created the texture of her skin. As she is so large I didn’t do under where I knew her T-shirt would be later.

She also has a cat-like tail. Unfortunately I forgot to take any photos of this. I took the piece that I’d left aside for her tail and rolled it into a smooth sausage and attached it with glue before blending in the joins with a Dresden Tool and damp paint brush.

2. I then painted the detail of her eyes, eyebrows and lips. Unlike the other characters her mouth is flat against her face and so doesn’t require any modelling.

3. I then rolled two thin sausages of white modelling chocolate for her horns. I thinned one end into a point and attached it with glue and blended in the joins with a Dresden Tool and damp paint brush. Once dry I painted them with Milk Chocolate Rainbow Dust mixed with Isopropyl Alcohol and then dusted on some shading with a slightly darker brown. I then took five tiny pieces of white modelling chocolate for the small spikes on top of her head. I rolled them into little balls and then slightly thinned one end into a small point. I attached these with glue and once dry I painted them brown like her horns. I then took three tiny pieces of white modelling chocolate for her earrings. She has two on one horn and one on the other. I rolled these into tiny sausages. I then dabbed the horns with glue, held each earring into position and then with a cocktail stick I carefully secured the ends of each one making a small hole in her horns to look like a piercing. Once they were dry I painted each one Silver. Then I lightly dusted a small amount of Black Magic Rainbow Dust on each one to give them some shadowing.

4. I then made a piping bag of Royal Icing with a No.2 nozzle and took a clear polythene bag. I then piped six pairs of glasses onto the bag (incase I needed spares) and left them to dry for a few hours.

5. Once the glasses had dried I carefully peeled each one off the bag and held them up to her face to see which one looked best. I then piped a small blob of Royal Icing in between her eyes and gently pressed the glasses on. Once these were dry and fixed in position I rolled two small sausages of white modelling chocolate for the arms. I dabbed both sides of the frames with glue and above her horns. I then secured each arm into place by carefully blending one end onto the frames and one end above each horn with a Dresden Tool. Once everything had dried I painted the glasses black with Black Magic Rainbow Dust. I then painted small White highlights onto the insides of the frames and on top of the arms.

6. I then coloured a piece of white modelling chocolate dark brown for her shirt. From this I put aside a small piece for her leather cuff and a small piece for the patch on the front of her shirt. I rolled out the main piece for her shirt thinly with a Rolling pin and then cut out a long Rectangle with a Cutting Wheel. I then held this up against her to measure for size and trimmed off any if needed. With a small pair of scissors I then cut into the top and bottom of the shirt to create ragged ripped edges. I then dabbed her body with glue. I placed the shirt around so that the joins were at the back. I blended these in till you could no longer see them using a Dresden Tool and a damp paint brush. With my Ball Tool I then created to large indents either side of the shirt for arm holes.

I then took the piece that I’d put to one side for the patch on the front. I rolled this out thinly and cut out a rectangle with a Cutting Wheel I then secured this on with glue. I then took some Royal Icing and brushed on thin stitches around the patch using a small paint brush. To finish it off I painted on the ‘HSS’ logo using Snow Drift Rainbow Dust.

7. With my Ball Tool I then created three small indents on the front of each foot to secure a toenail into. I then rolled six tiny balls of white modelling chocolate and dabbed the indents with glue. I then gently pressed each nail in. Once dry I painted them Black and then dusted them lightly with White to make them more Grey in colour and also to add highlights.

8. I then took the two pieces of Grey modelling chocolate that I’d put aside for her arms. I rolled these into two smooth sausages. I then shaped the wrist. I then slightly flattened one end of the arm with my fingers to create the shape for the hand. I used my fingers to gently smooth the ends and to make one side slightly smaller for the thumb. With a small pair of scissors I then cut in five fingers and smoothed the ends with my fingers. I then did the same with her arms as I did with her body and made the markings on her skin. I then took the piece of brown modelling chocolate that I’d left aside for her leather cuff and rolled it out with a Rolling Pin so as it was still quite thick. I then cut out a thing Rectangle with a Cutting Wheel. I dabbed one of her wrists with glue and wrapped the cuff around so as the joins were underneath her arm. I then blended these together. With a Dresden Tool I then made the markings around the cuff.I then took a tiny piece of white modelling chocolate, rolled it into a ball an attached it to the cuff for a stud. Once dry I painted it Silver. I then attached each arm so as they were crossed. I blended in the joins of the arms and the shirt with a Dresden Tool and damp paint brush.

To finish her off I gave her body some shading using Black Magic Rainbow Dust.

rosie levin finished rosie steve pic

 

Unfortunately as I was putting my characters into position on my board her glasses got knocked and broke. So I had to pipe some more. I decided to make them thinner so as you could see more of her face.

Leave a Reply

