Terri and Terry Stages

terri and terry process

Now that I was happy with both Scott and Mike I decided to try and tackle a more challenging character.

1. First I needed to make their tentacles so as they could be left to dry over night. I decided to use Flower Paste again as I wanted them to be solid and sturdy. I first coloured some Flower Paste a pale orange/yellow colour. I then rolled eight thin sausages of equal length and bent them into various shapes, some curled round flat on the floor and other curled upright. I then left them to dry.

The following day I used Orange Rainbow Dust mixed with isopropyl alcohol to paint orange stripes along each tentacle. Next I coloured white modelling chocolate Green (the same green as Scott’s jumper) and made a flat rounded rectangle shape for their main body. I then flattened the bottom of it against my work surface. I measured it against Scott and Mike for size. I then lightly dabbed the ends of each tentacle with glue and gently pushed them up into the base of the body. I directed all the tentacles outwards in a circular shape. I then stood the main body up and the tentacles were able to stand securely.

Using a stitching wheel I then marked the main body to give it a jumper effect. With a Dresden tool I then carefully marked around the bottom to give it a trim.

2. I then took two small pieces of green coloured chocolate and rolled them into two small balls to make the necks of their jumper. I lightly flattened the balls and made them look more like a cube shape with my fingers. I then used the Stitching wheel to make the jumper effect. I dabbed the  top of the main body with glue and secured the jumper necks on top. With a Ball tool I then made a hole in each one ready for the necks to go into. I then dusted the bottom trim and the necks with Rainforest Green Rainbow Dust.

3. Next, I rolled a smooth ball from my yellow/orange coloured chocolate for the smaller head. I then made it into a slight tear drop shape and narrowed the bottom for the neck rolling it with my fingers against my palm. With a Ball tool I then made the eye socket and emphasised the top lid with a Dresden tool gently pushing upwards. I then rolled a smooth ball for the eye from white modelling chocolate. I lightly dabbed the inside of the eye socket with glue and pressed the eye inside. With a Dresden tool I then marked out the mouth and carefully cut around my markings with a small palette knife. I then dug out the middle. Using black Rainbow Dust I then coloured the inside of the mouth black, added a small piece of white modelling chocolate for the tongue and marked a line down the middle with a Veining Tool. I then painted the tongue pink and added some shadowing using the left over dust on my black paintbrush. Using white modelling chocolate I then made seven teeth with the front two being slightly bigger than the rest to give him a ‘goofy’ look. I then attached these by lightly covering the top of the mouth with glue and by using a cocktail stick to pick up and secure each tooth.

4. I then piped a little Royal Icing into the slightly smaller neck of the jumper and then lightly dabbed the neck of the head with edible glue. I then carefully balanced the head inside the neck of the jumper. With a Dresden Tool I then gently pressed the base of the neck into the neck of the jumper to blend the two together and to secure the head.

5. Once I had left the head to dry and I was happy that it was secure I was able to paint the eye on using a very fine paintbrush and Rainbow Dusts mixed with isopropyl alcohol. I then took a small piece of white modelling chocolate and rolled a small ball. I then rolled the top of it against my palm with my finger to turn it into a cone shape. I then gently flattened it creating more of a triangle shape for his horn. I lightly dabbed the top of his head with edible glue and then placed the horn on top. Using a Dresden Tool I then pressed the bottom two corners onto the top of his head to secure it. I then blended the edges in using a small damp paintbrush. Once it had dried I painted it using Milk Chocolate Rainbow Dust and then gave it some shadowing with a darker brown. I then gave his whole head some shadowing and extra detail using Orangeade coloured dust.

6. Using the same method as for the first head I then made the second but slightly bigger and rounder. I also made the entire head and decorated it before securing it into the jumper as I didn’t want to knock or damage the first. I went through the same process to create the eye except I made it slightly larger and using a small flattened piece of orange/yellow coloured modelling chocolate I was able to create an eyelid to make him appear dozy/chilled. I marked out the mouth using a Dresden Tool and used it to press in and upwards to give him a slight upper lip and also a space for his two teeth to fit into. I made two small teeth of slightly different sizes using white modelling chocolate. I glued them under his top lip using a small amount of edible glue. I then painted his eye using Rainbow Dusts and a fine paintbrush. Just like with the first head I made two horns. I then glued these to either side of his head and secured the corners down with a Dresden Tool before carefully blending them in with a small damp brush. I then painted these brown. I then shaded the head with Orangeade Dust to give contrast and shadowing.

7. I then secured the second head. As he was slightly larger and had a longer neck it proved more difficult to make him balance. In the end after several attempts and lots of bits of sponge! I decided that it was best to discreetly secure the two heads together so as they gave each other more support. I did this by brushing a small amount of Royal Icing between the two heads and gently pressed them together. I then blended away any visible Icing with a small damp paintbrush.

8. I then rolled four small sausages from my green coloured modelling chocolate for their arms. I measured them against each other to check that they were all equal in size. With a stitching wheel I then marked them all to give them a knitted jumper effect just like his main body. I then made an indentation at one end for the sleeves where the hands would be secured. I then cut off the opposite ends with a palette knife so as they were flat ready to secure to the body. Taking my orange/yellow coloured modelling chocolate I then rolled four small balls for their hands. I then made each one into a tear drop shape and slightly flattened the rounded ends, leaving a wrist and an area for the fingers. With a small pair of scissors I then cut four skinny long fingers into each hand. I then further defined these by slightly bending over the top of each finger and blending it in very carefully with a cocktail stick to the finger below to create a rounded ball shaped finger tip. With a Dresden Tool I then marked a small line in the centre of each hand to create a palm. I then dabbed the inside of each sleeve with glue and inserted the hands inside. I then took each arm and positioned it against the body to see where I wanted each one to bend. I then pushed a Dresden Tool into each arm and with it still in place I bent the arms into position. I then marked several creases around the bend and left the arms to dry for a few minutes.

I brushed the sides of the main body with edible glue and secured each arm into position by blending the edges of the arms into the body with a Dresden Tool before doing the same again with a small damp paintbrush. Anywhere that I’d distorted the knitting pattern slightly I carefully went back over with a Stitching Wheel. I wanted the hands on the side of the larger head to be positioned so as it appeared that he was leaning against his side. So I carefully bent each finger round to touch his palm using a cocktail stick. To further secure these two arms I also lightly dabbed the fists with glue and gently pressed them against his side.

9. Finally on the side with the smaller head and the hands with outstretched fingers I wanted the bottom hand to be holding a can of pop. Taking a small piece of white modelling chocolate I rolled it into smooth ball before making it into a can shape. With a Ball Tool I then carefully indented the top and bottom of the can. Using a Dresden Tool I then marked a line around the top and bottom of the can to show were the tin was. I then painted the top and bottom of the can with Silver Rainbow Dust. I then painted half of the can red and half of it purple. Finally with a fine paintbrush I then painted the word ‘Blob’ on the side. I wanted this to be displayed at the front so I dabbed the back of the can with edible glue and placed it in the lower outstretched hand. I then carefully wrapped each finger around the can with a cocktail stick.

To finish off I shaded in any shadowing with Orangeade Dust.

terri and terry complete

Leave a Reply

